AudioMasters

User Info & Key Stats   
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
March 07, 2011, 09:24:17 AM
72057 Posts in 7573 Topics by 2391 Members
Latest Member: Usadoctor
News:       Buy Adobe Audition:
+  AudioMasters
|-+  Audio Related
| |-+  General Audio
| | |-+  Good ears - The best monitors
  « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author
Topic: Good ears - The best monitors  (Read 324 times)
« on: January 14, 2011, 09:30:27 PM »
Keith828 Offline

I confess I'm a complete Mastering rookie, I downloaded the Mac version of AA on Monday, I've learnt a huge amount reading in this forum and I would like to say a personal thank you to all the professionals and amateurs that have taken the time to advise and help where they can, I at least have found all your input very informative.

I believe I have good ears, so I'm very interested to hear opinions on these versions of Depeche Mode's 'Told You So.'

Version 1 is the original imported directly into Pro Tools from their 'Contruction Time Again' disc, and bounced as an AIF, and uploaded to SoundCloud

Versions 2 & 3 are version 1 having been through AA, then imported to Pro Tools and bounced as AIFs, and uploaded to Soundcloud.

Is version 1 best, and if you believe it is could you explain why you believe it is?
Are either or both of versions 2 & 3 improvements, or worse, and if you believe so could you explain why?

I'm hoping that many pairs of good ears here can explain the 'finer' points, what I'll miss or not understand when Mastering my mixes.

Many thanks to anyone that takes the time to help.  Keith.

Version 1 - http://soundcloud.com/user9362408/1-1/s-ycFxV

Version 2 - http://soundcloud.com/user9362408/2-1/s-6p2lg

Version 3 - http://soundcloud.com/user9362408/3-1/s-dhfFO