AudioMasters

User Info & Key Stats   
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
February 01, 2012, 09:49:15 AM
73736 Posts in 7768 Topics by 2596 Members
Latest Member: paulvincent
News:       Buy Adobe Audition:
+  AudioMasters
|-+  Audio Related
| |-+  Radio, TV and Video Production
| | |-+  tips for radio commercial?
  « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author
Topic: tips for radio commercial?  (Read 5883 times)
« on: September 23, 2009, 04:48:19 PM »
andrea*. Offline

afro

i am a radio student and have a commercial i need to produce. the script calls for a guy who goes back and forth from a voice where it's the thoughts inside his head, and then he gets snapped back to reality when someone else is talking to him.

does anybody know a good effect or technique to use on audition 2.0 for the "thinking" voice. i was thinking of playing around with echo/echo chamber but if someone knows anything that will work or has used it before and wants to share that'd be great! thanks so much.
Reply #1
« on: September 23, 2009, 07:08:36 PM »
Graeme Offline
Administrator

I'm not a commercial producer, but my own inclination would be to make the 'thoughts' voice very dry and intimate, rather than echoey.

Reply #2
« on: September 23, 2009, 08:25:20 PM »
andrea*. Offline

VERY good idea i didn't even consider. thank you i'll try that as well
Reply #3
« on: September 23, 2009, 09:39:34 PM »
SteveG Offline
Administrator

Graeme's dead right about this - all I'd add is that the most effective way to ensure that the distinction is thoroughly made is to have the dry inner-head voice almost whispered, much closer to the mic - and the outside voice just as it would normally be recorded when more than one person is present.

Reply #4
« on: September 23, 2009, 11:18:02 PM »
Graeme Offline
Administrator

....have the dry inner-head voice almost whispered, much closer to the mic