AudioMasters

User Info & Key Stats   
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
May 20, 2010, 05:02:14 PM
70511 Posts in 7368 Topics by 2191 Members
Latest Member: MeetPlanB
News:       Buy Adobe Audition:
+  AudioMasters
|-+  Audio Related
| |-+  General Audio
| | |-+  Surround Sound
  « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author
Topic: Surround Sound  (Read 1725 times)
« on: November 26, 2008, 05:03:33 PM »
David Offline

Here's my predicament.  I'm a sculpture professor at the university of
nebraska.  I'm working on a project where sound will travel around a
room.  I'm planning on 10 -20 independent speakers.  I know this is an
easy question but how do I make audio from my computer sweep from one
speaker to the next.
Reply #1
« on: November 26, 2008, 05:25:44 PM »
SteveG Offline
Administrator

The usual answer to this is to use a multichannel sound device (there are plenty around that should just about manage this, I think) and have each speaker fed from its own track, where the track concerned just has the sound for that speaker. Or possibly more sensibly, a pair of speakers per stereo track (you can still keep each one separate - that's not a problem).

Then all you do is to arrange the playback to take place in multitrack view, with the correct track allocations, get enough power amps and speakers connected to your sound device, and off you go...

It's not ideal for the purpose, (it's not got quite enough I/O), but my MOTU traveler will, if I connect something like a Behringer ADA8000 to its ADAT port, produce 16 discrete outputs like this. I'm sure that any device that would let you connect two ADAT devices (2 ADA8000s, perhaps, because they are relatively cheap) and use its own built-in outputs as well would get you there. Whatever outputs you have, Audition should see, and let you drive independently. The sweeping, you arrange in the software - almost without limits!