AudioMasters

User Info & Key Stats   
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
May 20, 2010, 01:45:13 AM
70515 Posts in 7368 Topics by 2192 Members
Latest Member: MeetPlanB
News:       Buy Adobe Audition:
+  AudioMasters
|-+  Audio Related
| |-+  General Audio
| | |-+  Advice needed on initial midi setup
  « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author
Topic: Advice needed on initial midi setup  (Read 2369 times)
« on: September 16, 2008, 12:02:42 PM »
ssilverm Offline

Two of my lifelong hobbies are music (I'm a pianist and singer), and computers. Strangely, I have never gotten around to putting the two together in the same way as I have with photography and video. I actually have a need to rectify that now, but I'm not entirely sure where to start as this is not an area I have ever really explored.There is obviously a huge amount of information about this subject out on the web, but I'm having some trouble picking my way through it and I need to get up to speed fairly quickly. So I'm hoping to draw on the collective experience here for some pointers through the maze.

I have a high spec PC (although it's currently only using the integrated Realtek sound on the motherboard) and a new Yamaha digital piano that I want to construct the system around without incurring too much additional cost. THe only slight problem is that the piano and computer cannot be located close to one another, so I plan to use an old laptop to capture from the piano, and then move the files to the main computer for further work.

Because of my training, and because old habits die hard, I need to be able to start by seeing what comes out of the piano as musical notation. From there I want to be able to arrange, orchestrate and print. I also want to be able to generate realistic orchestral sounds so that I can create CDs and backing tracks. It looks to me as though Sibelius 5 does everything that I need but it is horribly expensive.